Infinity Scarf for Beginners

Hi All! ⊗

I recently took a trip to A.C. Moore to buy one specific item: a mason jar or two for my succulents. As always, I ended up buying more yarn than I know what to do with. I will admit it has honestly become a real spending problem. I would rather not tell you how many different colors and textures of yarn I have amassed. I found a funky, lime yellow skein of yarn by of one of my favorite brands, Bernat, on sale! How could I not buy it? Below is a simple knitted pattern for the stylish infinity scarf.

I am using a #6 super bulky yarn made by Bernat. Bernat Blanket yarn comes in a ton of solid and multi-color styles, so pick whichever you like best! Begin by casting on 25 stitches using size 11 straight needles.

First Row: K1, P1, repeat until the last stitch, K1 (repeat all rows).

Below I have knitted a couple of rows with the knit one, purl one pattern. Repeat the same pattern on both sides of the work. When working on either side of the piece, you will be knitting the purl stitches and purling the knit stitches.  This stitch pattern is one of my favorites for a scarf, besides stockinette, because it creates a thick scarf with some natural gaps between the stitches.

IMG_3199.JPG
Photo credit: Dakota Burr, for Mackieknitz

If you knit while watching a show on TV, like I do, you will often lose your place. Above you can see the difference between the knitted stitches and purled stitches. If you lose your place and forget if your next move should be to purl or knit just check if there is a bump in the stitch! No bump, move your working yarn to the front and purl. If there is a bump, simply knit the stitch.

IMG_3226
Photo credit: Dakota Burr, for Mackieknitz

Depending on how snug to the neck you want your scarf to be, continue knitting until the scarf is about 60-70 inches long. Above I have added six rows of stockinette just to break up the pattern and give it a more interesting look. When you have reached the desired length, you may begin to cast off. Leave a tail with the yarn long enough to weave both ends of the scarf together with a large sewing needle. Make sure to twist one end of the scarf upside down to give the scarf the final infinity look.

If you have any questions or want to post a photo of your own scarf with this pattern, do so below in the comments!

One thought on “Infinity Scarf for Beginners

Leave a Reply

